SPACE ADVENTURES
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in
SPACEPEDIA
Click the image below to be directed to our wikia, where you can find all information on various characters, alien species, and planets. It is still under construction so suggestions are accepted.
SPACEPEDIA SPACEPEDIA
Staff Members

( kyuu )
c r e a t o r

( deus dormio )
a d m i n

( snicker muffin )
m o d

Inner and Outward Focus in Role-Playing

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Deus Dormio

Deus Dormio

Aquarius Pig
Location : I reside alone on the faraway planet Dormio. It is mine and mine only. Whatever citizens live there are nonsentient lizards.

Inner and Outward Focus in Role-Playing Empty
PostSubject: Inner and Outward Focus in Role-Playing   Inner and Outward Focus in Role-Playing EmptySun Aug 14, 2011 2:21 pm

I’ve been role-playing in online forum communities for something like 10 years, and playing Dungeons & Dragons for the last five. (I’m a 4th edition whipper-snapper.) For the online role-playing, it’s clear that the major priority there is story and characterization. Most online role-playing does not deal with stats or numbers, and usually does not have a Dungeon Master-type role. Rarely does the site admin administer the plot to their members. And even less likely is to find a site where all members are involved in the same plot. The differences go on and on, however I’ve noticed that they both share a dichotomy in the way people role-play.

Some role-players are intra-focused. Others are inter-focused.

• Intra-focused role-players are focused primarily on the truest characterization possible.

• Inter-focused role-players are focused primarily on the overall story/experience.